Annual Tournament 2020

Weeks of competition culminated in a series of scintillating matches as the Annual Tournament 2020 came to a close on Sunday 13 September.

A socially-distanced group of spectators were treated to a superb display of tennis as each title was battled for – with the winners being fought hard all of the way to their victories.

Organised by Ross Gleig, the tournament once again highlighted the depth of talent at the Club and showcased a high level of play. Additionally, a number of new and developing players have made their mark and will no doubt be ones to watch in the future.

Thank you to everyone who participated to make this year’s event so enjoyable – despite the challenges we all face at the moment.

Photos courtesy of Paddy Dare.

Sean Evans, Men's Singles Winner 2020

Men’s Singles

Sean Evans beat Jack Hoare
6-2 6-3

Sue Ralphs, Ladies' Singles Winner 2020

Ladies’ Singles

Sue Ralphs beat Helen Roe
1-1 (Helen retired injured)

Sean Evans and Jack Hoare, Men's Doubles Winners 2020

Men’s Doubles

Sean Evans & Jack Hoare beat
Adam Harvey & David Thompson
7-6 6-1

Lisa Eade and Sue Sumner, Ladies' Doubles Winners 2020

Ladies’ Doubles

Lisa Eade & Sue Sumner beat
Rosanne Dane & Helen Marsden
6-1 6-4

Trevor Loten and Sue Sumner, Mixed Doubles Winners 2020

Mixed Doubles

Trevor Loten & Sue Sumner beat
Ed Martin & Fiona Lambert
6-2 5-7 6-3

Men’s and Mixed Plate competitions

  • Men’s Doubles Plate: Paddy Dare & David Maultby beat
    Luke Moseley & Keigan Freeman-Hacker 6-2 7-5
  • Mixed Doubles Plate: Matt Ralphs & Sue Ralphs beat
    Di Flint & Pete Brown 6-3 6-1
Paddy Dare and David Maultby, Men's Plate Winners 2020
Matt Ralphs and Sue Ralphs, Mixed Plate Winners 2020